Congress Wins Both Seats in Arunachal Pradesh

May 17, 2009

The Indian National Congress (INC) won both seats in Arunachal Pradesh following India’s 2009 Lok Sabha Elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were unable to retain these parliamentary seats.

The winning Congress candidates are as follows:

Arunachal West: Takam Sanjay.

Sanjay won by 1,314 votes, closely followed by BJP candidate Khiren Rijuju.

Arunachal East: Ninong Ering.

Ering won by a clear 68,449 votes. The BJP candidate was Tapir Gao.

Also, the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance will lead India’s government for a second term. It is expected that Dr. Manmohan Singh will again be elected as Prime Minister.


Comments are closed.